LHSC COMISSION MEETING MINTUES

Louisiana Highway Safety Commission East Baton Rouge Parish Main Library 7711 Goodwood Boulevard Baton Rouge, LA 70806 June 10, 2019 9:30am

CALL TO ORDER

Commission members were welcomed by LHSC Chairman Jim Craft and LHSC Executive Director Lisa Freeman. All LHSC Commission Members were presented with packets containing the following information:

Agenda, November and March Meeting Minutes, FFY 2020 Problem Identification, LSP Troop Map, HSP Project Descriptions, Ballot, Three-Year Project List and Code of Ethics Excerpts

ROLL CALL

Chairman James P. "Jim" Craft Sheriff Rodney Arbuckle (Ret.) Cherie M. Ausberry ADA Russell Haman Chief Michael Kazerooni Jeffrey McKneely Wally McMakin Lt. Col. Mark Oxley (Ret.) Sheriff James Pohlman Major Dustin Reynolds Mayor Reggie Skains John Snow Attorney Chris Tyson

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chairman Craft asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the November 5, 2018 and March 11, 2019 commission meetings. A motion to approve the minutes was made and seconded by Commissioner Arbuckle, and with no objections, the minutes of both meetings were approved.

LEGISLATIVE UPDATES

LHSC Consultants Mike Barron, Cathy Childers and Bobby Breland presented the Laws that were passed in the 2019 Legislative Regular Session regarding highway safety issues.

PRIORITY PROGRAM AREAS

LHSC Deputy Director Dortha Cummins gave an overview of LHSC planning, Problem Identification and grant process.

FINANCIAL OVERVIEW

LHSC Accountant Linda Tillman presented the budget details for Federal Fiscal Year 2020.

ETHICS

Steven Quid, DPS Attorney Supervisor, Office of Legal Affairs, provided information to the Commissioners regarding the Louisiana Code of Ethics, with particular emphasis on conflicts of interests and recusals.

GRANT RECOMMENDATIONS

Director Freeman requested that each LHSC Staff Member introduce themselves to the board members and present their grant recommendations for each particular traffic safety emphasis area.

A'Kimberly Short — Occupant Protection, Motorcycle Safety, Bike-Pedestrian Safety
Chanita Vazquez — Regional Coalitions, Diversity Outreach
Chela Mitchell — Impaired Driving
Jessica Bedwell — Young Drivers, Distracted Driving, Earned Media
Chuck Miller — Traffic Records, LADRIVING, Hazard Elimination
Lyrica Johnson — Police Traffic Services

Dortha Cummins – Planning & Administration, Paid Media, Observational Surveys

- Commission members were given ballots to adopt the funding recommendations. Chairman Craft
 instructed Commissioners to compete the ballots by choosing to approve, deny or abstain from
 each project. Completed ballots were submitted LHSC Planner Lyrica Johnson for tallying.
 completion.
- Nomination was made for LHSC Vice-Chair replacement. Commissioner Pohlman nominated Commissioner Oxley to fill the vacancy. Without further nomination, a motion was made by Commissioner Arbuckle and seconded Commissioner Snow to approve the nomination, and with no objections, Commissioner Oxley became LHSC Vice Chairman.

OLD BUSINESS

Director Freeman noted that while LHSC has undergone recurrent audits in the past year, LHSC Office is addressing audit findings by implementing various procedures and processes to resolve and correct prior findings.

NEW BUSINESS

Director Freeman introduced Mark Lambert, Earned Media Consultant, who spoke about press releases and distribution of information to Commissioners regarding LHSC traffic safety events and initiatives. Also, the Director informed Commissioners about the two LHSC Commission vacancies resulting from departures of Commissioners Dickerson and Hughes, and then discussed 2020 Commission meeting dates and locations.

ADJOURNMENT

After the presentation of old and new business, Chairman Craft called for a motion to adjourn, which was offered and then seconded by Commissioner Arbuckle, and without objections the meeting was adjourned.

Sincerely

Lisa Freeman